Thursday, September 6, 2012

New Colorado Law for Roofing Contractors


Colorado State Article 22
 Signed into law on 6/6/2012
Roofing Services - Residential Property
State Title 6-22-101.  Legislative declaration.

(1)  THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY HEREBY DECLARES THAT THE PURPOSE OF ENACTING THIS ARTICLE IS TO PROTECT COLORADO CONSUMERS BY:

(a)  REQUIRING ROOFING CONTRACTORS OFFERING TO PERFORM ROOFING WORK ON RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY IN THIS STATE TO SIGN A WRITTEN CONTRACT WITH PROPERTY OWNERS DETAILING THE SCOPE AND COST OF THE ROOFING WORK AND CONTACT INFORMATION FOR THE ROOFING CONTRACTOR;

(b)  REQUIRING ROOFING CONTRACTORS TO PERMIT PROPERTY OWNERS TO RESCIND A CONTRACT FOR THE PERFORMANCE OF ROOFING WORK AND OBTAIN A REFUND OF ANY DEPOSIT PAID TO THE ROOFING CONTRACTOR; AND

(c)  PROHIBITING ROOFING CONTRACTORS FROM PAYING, WAIVING, REBATING, OR PROMISING TO PAY, WAIVE, OR REBATE ALL OR PART OF ANY INSURANCE DEDUCTIBLE APPLICABLE TO AN INSURANCE CLAIM MADE TO THE PROPERTY OWNER'S PROPERTY AND CASUALTY INSURER FOR PAYMENT FOR ROOFING WORK ON THE RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY COVERED BY A PROPERTY AND CASUALTY INSURANCE POLICY.


For the full text of the law, go to: http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2012a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/27662B8088A2C51F87257981007F1243?open&file=038_enr.pdf

4 comments:

  1. Hi there! Keep it up! This is a good read. You have such an interesting and informative page. I will be looking forward to visit your page again and for your other posts as well. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about roofing contractor in your area. I am glad to stop by your site and know more about roofing contractors.
    The state of California has a particular licensing process for roofers. To get a state license and become a licensed roofing contractor in California, one needs to obtain a C-39 license before contracting any roofing jobs over the amount of $500.00. If the work is performed without a license, the homeowner may be stuck with unsatisfactory results and have no way to get assistance to correct the problems. If a licensed roofing contractor has problems that relate to unfinished work or the work is faulty in any way, the homeowner or property owner can at least file a claim against the roofing contractor's performance bond for the cost of repairs, damages or unfinished work that must be still be completed. Obtaining a bond is a prerequisite before any license will be issued and it must be in good standing and renewed every two years or the contractor's license could be revoked.
    Top grade roofing materials from GAF, America’s #1 roof rated shingles!

    Roofing Contractor NH

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you Mark for your comments. To expand on your comments about California, Licensed contractors are required to have a contractor license bond of $12,500. This bond covers any project the contractor agrees to perform. Be aware: this bond is often not enough to cover multiple complaints made against it or your project if it's worth more than the value of the bond. This is only a License bond.

      Contract bonds guarantee both the completion of the job and payment for all labor and materials. In general, the bonding company will not have to pay more than the face amount of the bond. The cost of this bond is usually 1-2 percent of the contract price. This type of bond is NOT required by the state and most contractors do not carry this type of bond.

      Delete
  2. Before hiring a contractor to help with your roofing needs, learn what you need to know to ensure you get the right roofer.

    Iko shingles

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hopefully this new law helps improve the quality of roofs. Roofs should always be very high quality. I will be looking forward to visit your page again and for your other posts as well. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about roofing contractor in your area.

    Roofing Contractors Insurance California

    ReplyDelete